Faculty and Staff Profiles

The faculty of the Biology Program are divided into the three groups (large lecture-style groups); 1) Ecology and Systematics, 2) Cell and Functional Biology, and 3) Marine Biology and Coral Reef Studies—for both research and educational purposes. Faculty members of the University’s Tropical Biosphere Research Center are also engaged in education and research projects with the Biology Program.

Ecology and Systematics

Professor Masatugu Yokota

  • Detailed Information on Our Laboratory
Mail address
yokota@sci.u-ryukyu.ac.jp
Phone
Extension 8544
Research field

Development of wild plant life on the Ryukyu Archipelago


横田

Professor Masako Izawa

  • Detailed Information on Our Laboratory
Mail address
Izawa@sci.u-ryukyu.ac.jp
Phone
Extension 8541
Research field

Ecology of terrestrial animals


伊澤

Professor Tetsuo Denda

  • Detailed Information on Our Laboratory
Mail address
denda@sci.u-ryukyu.ac.jp
Phone
Extension 8545
Research field

Ancestry and evolution of grasses and trees of the Ryukyu Archipelago


傳田

Professor Yasuhiro Kubota

  • Detailed Information on Our Laboratory
Mail address
kubota_y@sci.u-ryukyu.ac.jp
Phone
Extension 8561
Research field

Biodiversity maintenance mechanisms of plant associations


久保田

Associate Professor Takashi Nakamura

  • Detailed Information on Our Laboratory
Mail address
takasuke@sci.u-ryukyu.ac.jp
Phone
Extension 8897
Research field

Fundamentals of coral biology and ecological physiology of coral reef life


中村

Assistant Professor Haruko Kurihara

  • Detailed Information on Our Laboratory
Mail address
harukoku@sci.u-ryukyu.ac.jp
Phone
Extension 8695
Research field

Climate change impacts on coral reef ecosystem


栗原

Cell and Functional Biology

Professor Euichi Hirose

  • Detailed Information on Our Laboratory
Mail address
euichi@sci.u-ryukyu.ac.jp
Phone
Extension 8880
Research field

Forms and modes of existence of marine invertebrates (especially sea squirts)


広瀬

Professor Hideo Yamasaki

  • Detailed Information on Our Laboratory
Mail address
yamasaki@sci.u-ryukyu.ac.jp
Phone
Extension 8550
Research field

Stress tolerability and adaptive mechanisms of living organisms


山崎

Associate Professor Ryuuichi Itoh

  • Detailed Information on Our Laboratory
Mail address
ryuitoh@sci.u-ryukyu.ac.jp
Phone
Extension 8898
Research field

Plastid differentiation and morphogenesis


伊藤

Associate Professor Joji Otaki

  • Detailed Information on Our Laboratory
Mail address
otaki@sci.u-ryukyu.ac.jp
Phone
Extension 8557
Research field

Butterfly color pattern formation, olfactory reception, and protein science.


大瀧

Assistant Professor Atsuko Tanaka

  • Detailed Information on Our Laboratory
Mail address
tanakaa@sci.u-ryukyu.ac.jp
Phone
Extension 8547
Research field

Algal cell biology and physiology


Marine Biology and Coral Reef Studies

Professor Shoichiro Suda

  • Detailed Information on Our Laboratory
Mail address
sudas@sci.u-ryukyu.ac.jp
Phone
Extension 8564
Research field

Phycology


須田

Professor Yuzuru Ikeda

  • Detailed Information on Our Laboratory
Mail address
ikeda@sci.u-ryukyu.ac.jp
Phone
Extension 8548
Research field

Behavior and natural history of cephalopods (squid, octopus, etc.)


池田

Professor Akihiro Takemura

  • Detailed Information on Our Laboratory
Mail address
takemura@sci.u-ryukyu.ac.jp
Phone
Extension 8993
Research field

Reproduction and use of environment by coral reef life


竹村

Professor Katsunori Tachihara

  • Detailed Information on Our Laboratory
Mail address
ktachiha@sci.u-ryukyu.ac.jp
Phone
Extension 8556
Research field

Life history of fish and research on the course of life cycles of fish


立原

Associate Professor Hideyuki Imai

  • Detailed Information on Our Laboratory
Mail address
imai@sci.u-ryukyu.ac.jp
Phone
Extension 8554
Research field

Discovery of the life modes of fish and shellfish/conservation based on genetic information


今井

Associate Professor James Davis Reimer

  • Detailed Information on Our Laboratory
Mail address
jreimer@sci.u-ryukyu.ac.jp
Phone
Extension 8542
Research field

Ecology, taxonomy, and diversity of cnidarians and coral reef invertebrates


J.D.ライマー

Support Staff

Ayumu Tamashiro, Education Affairs Staff

Mail address
ayumu@sci.u-ryukyu.ac.jp

玉城

Sugako Asato, Clerical Assistant

Mail address
sugakok@jim.u-ryukyu.ac.jp

安里

Setsu Ishadoh, Clerical Assistant

Mail address
ishadoh@jim.u-ryukyu.ac.jp

Setsu Ishadoh

  • Information from Entrance Examination Section
    • Access the University of the Ryukyus
    • Campus Map